Stunts Forum

Stunts - the Game => Stunts Reverse Engineering => Topic started by: llm on December 13, 2009, 09:27:18 PM

Title: restunts.exe available
Post by: llm on December 13, 2009, 09:27:18 PM
http://forum.stunts.hu/index.php?topic=2454.msg44125#msg44125 (http://forum.stunts.hu/index.php?topic=2454.msg44125#msg44125)
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: Duplode on December 14, 2009, 02:00:09 AM
It seems to work perfectly fine, indeed. Using DOSBox, I did a quick sanity-check run, in which I used the editor, loaded a replay and drove a custom-graphics car and experienced no problems. The only thing missing were SoundBlaster sounds - in spite of the setup.exe settings telling otherwise, the game defaulted to PC Speaker. Great work guys  ;)
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: dstien on December 14, 2009, 07:25:02 AM
The only thing missing were SoundBlaster sounds - in spite of the setup.exe settings telling otherwise, the game defaulted to PC Speaker.
The configuration file is parsed by LOAD.EXE and passed on to the resulting executable. When running restunts.exe use the /ssb command line switch to load the SoundBlaster driver.
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: clvn on December 31, 2009, 08:13:16 PM
hello!

i believe we are past the biggest initial obstacles now. hopefully the next months will require mostly "mindless" porting from asm to c. the following pages are updated whenever something happens:

status: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/status.html (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/status.html)
cia.vc: http://cia.vc/stats/project/restunts (http://cia.vc/stats/project/restunts)

if anyones interested to join the effort, we still hang out on irc on #stunts/efnet. feel free to ask there, and we'll provide access to source codes, tools and scripts to get going. our tool chain has been tested on windows xp.

testers are also welcome:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts.exe (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts.exe)

restunts.exe currently features 40+ functions coded by dstien and i, running nicely side-by-side with the original code. the functions ported so far are related to file loading+writing and memory management. llm also gave valuable feedback in early critical phases.
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: clvn on August 19, 2010, 10:09:09 PM
fyi, the executable has been updated:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts.exe (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts.exe)

Total functions: 625 / Ignored: 143 / Ported: 98

keyboard support, math routines, 2d/3d shape loading and rendering are areas where there have been great progress. testers are encouraged to give this new version a spin.

note there is a section of code missing causing premature program termination at the end of the intro and when entering the track editor. alas, not everything works yet.


something else; theres a simple 3d shape browser based on the stunts engine:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts-alt.exe (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/213479/restunts-alt.exe)

arrows right/left choose shapes and any action key exits. note the arrow keys react way too fast.

the link is for fun, but the purpose of this program is to demonstrate the minimum code that renders a 3d mesh on screen. hopefully the same program will compile and run on windows+SDL not too far in the future.
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: CTG on August 20, 2010, 04:52:01 PM
bööööööööööööööööööff!!!
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: llm on August 21, 2010, 08:02:02 AM
very nice - restunts.exe seems to work ok

but the restuns-alt exe shows me just the same as the resunts.exe - how to go into mesh view mode?
Title: Re: restunts.exe available
Post by: Duplode on October 01, 2010, 05:13:35 PM
Late test report: both programs are quite fine. restunts.exe is noticeably slower than the original game under DOSBox, but that was unavoidable of course. Other than that, mostly everything seems ok. The error on the track editor says something about being unable to handle sdtedit. One related observation is that I tried at first launching both versions from my "sandbox" Stunts installation, which has an edited sdmain.vsh (the menu signs being translated to Portuguese). Strangely enough, it crashed with the same complaint, only mentioning sdmain instead of sdtedit...

By the way, is there any way to choose which shape will be loaded by the restunts-alt?