Author Topic: Restunts repository - Git mirror  (Read 4305 times)

Daniel3D

  • Highway Horror
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
  • so many ideas....
    • View Profile
    • Stunts resources.
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #75 on: October 31, 2021, 06:38:37 PM »
Quote
But I automatically start CMD as administrator.
bad idea, in any way  :o
I know, bad practice. I needed administrator rights regularly for a while so it became automatic.
Edison once said,
“I have not failed 10,000 times,
I’ve successfully found 10,000 ways that will not work.”
---------
Currently running over 20 separate instances of Stunts or 4D Sports Driving.

Daniel3D

  • Highway Horror
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
  • so many ideas....
    • View Profile
    • Stunts resources.
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #76 on: October 31, 2021, 10:15:49 PM »
Well, I use tasm32 and that saves a lot of time.
Tlink is only one DOSBox execute (and not over 40 time's opening and closing DOSBox like tasmbox does)
So, I'm content with the setup.
Tried compiling with subst drive and tasm32 instead of tasmbox.
Tlink gave an error that seg0001 contains a 32bit something..
So tasm32 doesn't seem to work out of the box..
Edison once said,
“I have not failed 10,000 times,
I’ve successfully found 10,000 ways that will not work.”
---------
Currently running over 20 separate instances of Stunts or 4D Sports Driving.

Daniel3D

  • Highway Horror
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
  • so many ideas....
    • View Profile
    • Stunts resources.
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #77 on: October 31, 2021, 10:28:33 PM »
Dont forget to re-add the /zi and /v parameter or else you wont get source level debbuging, but just binary level debugging, like in dosbox
I tried debugging but something goes wrong in the setpath in dosbox. (see image below)

when i go to tools en run "td s:\stunts\restunto.exe" it loads, but it doesn't run (probably because it runs from the wrong dir)

Moving TD to the stunts dir solves it, but isn't clean.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2021, 10:34:10 PM by Daniel3D »
Edison once said,
“I have not failed 10,000 times,
I’ve successfully found 10,000 ways that will not work.”
---------
Currently running over 20 separate instances of Stunts or 4D Sports Driving.

llm

  • Otto's Student
  • **
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #78 on: November 01, 2021, 08:05:31 AM »
FYI: i currently try to fix the IDA Database and port the findings over to IDA Freeware 5 (the only free, DOS-exe able version)
so that all of you can also use IDA for adding findings

Daniel3D

  • Highway Horror
  • ****
  • Posts: 1439
  • so many ideas....
    • View Profile
    • Stunts resources.
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #79 on: November 01, 2021, 10:14:41 AM »
FYI: i currently try to fix the IDA Database and port the findings over to IDA Freeware 5 (the only free, DOS-exe able version)
so that all of you can also use IDA for adding findings
https://bigsoundbank.com/UPLOAD/wav/1020.wav
Edison once said,
“I have not failed 10,000 times,
I’ve successfully found 10,000 ways that will not work.”
---------
Currently running over 20 separate instances of Stunts or 4D Sports Driving.

llm

  • Otto's Student
  • **
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #80 on: November 01, 2021, 11:06:49 AM »
my current problem is:

the /asmorig and /asm files are generated based on one of these IDA databases (clvn only did changes in IDA and then generate the asm)
so one of the idb (game2.idb or game3_mod.idb) is the latest version - or maybe even more documented then the asmorig/asm code

its unclear what the best version is - need to re-run the script etc.

Info: it does not change anything in the resulting binaries - its only more findings, function names and comments - its irrelevant for assembly
if we are just outputing a bunch of not understand bytes or if that is a cleanly disassembled routine - its only for the viewer, not the machine

to bring back that automatism stuff is the only way ever be able to port it cleanly

llm

  • Otto's Student
  • **
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Restunts repository - Git mirror
« Reply #81 on: November 01, 2021, 11:16:47 AM »
checked it!

game_mod3.idb is the correct one

1. i've fixed license issues that prevents the IDA database from loading (replaced that with the freeware license)
2. run the src\idc\anders.idc script in IDA

this generates mini/minor changes in the asm/asmorig files (maybe due to a more up to date license)
and a new status.hml (just the inner timestamp changed)

next step will be to proove if i can bring that info to the freeware IDA version - with the same results



so the process still seems to work


UPDATE: i can't (easily) transfer the information into IDA Freeware 5 (the export script contains some stuff that is unknown to IDA 5)
nor Ghidra - Ghidras export-Script of IDA idb just crashes somewhere in between (need to file an issue)
« Last Edit: November 01, 2021, 12:34:09 PM by llm »